

YEAR	TITLE	EVENT	LOCATION	ATHLETE
1974	First Conference Team Championship	XC	Houston, Tx	
1974	First Individual Conference Champion	Indoor 880 yds	Ft. Worth, TX	Niall O'Shaughnessy
1977	First Sub 4 Minute Mile	3.58.1	Fayetteville, AR	Niall O'Shaughnessy
1977	First NCAA Individual Top 3	Indoor Mile	Detroit, MI	Niall O'Shaughnessy
1979	First Conference Track Championship	SWC Indoor	Ft. Worth, TX	
1980	First NCAA Team Top 3	XC - 2nd	Wichita, KS	
1982	First Outdoor Track Conference Title & Triple Crown	SWC	Houston, Tx	
1982	First Individual NCAA Champion	Indoor 1000yds	Detroit, MI	Randy Stephens
1983	First World Record	4 x 800m (7.19.92)	Fayetteville, AR	Williams, Moloney Swain, O'Mara
1983	First Penn Relays Victory	DMR	Philadelphia, PA	Donovan, Williams Redwine, O'Mara
1983	First Individual NCAA Outdoor Champion	1500m	Houston, TX	Frank O'Mara
1984	First Repeat National Champion	Indoor Triple Jump	Syracuse, NY	Mike Conley
1984	First Double NCAA Individual Champion	Long & Triple Jump	Syracuse, NY	Mike Conley
1984	First NCAA Team Title	NCAA Indoor	Syracuse, NY	
1984	First NCAA XC Championship		State College, PA	G Taylor, Re Reina Falcon Cherry, Swain Borge, Donovan
1985	First "3 peat" NCAA Individual Champion	Triple Jump	Syracuse, NY	Mike Conley
1985	First One/Two at NCAA Championships	Long Jump	Syracuse, NY	Mike Conley Joey Wells
1985	First NCAA Outdoor Title & Triple Crown		Austin, TX	
1986	First to Win 3 different NCAA Events	Mile, 4 x 800m Relay, 3000M		Paul Donovan

YEAR	TITLE	EVENT	LOCATION	ATHLETE
1987	First Individual NCAA XC Champion		Charlottesville, VA.	Joe Falcon
1988	First to Win 5 Different NCAA Events	3000, 10,000, XC, Mile, 1500M		Joe Falcon
1991	First SEC Title	xc	Athens, GA	
1992	First SEC &Triple Crown		Starkville, MS	
1994	First Team to Win 4 NCAA Triple Crowns		Indianapolis, IN	
1994	First to Win 11 of 12 NCAA Team Titles			Niall Bruton
1994	First to Win 10 Individual NCAA Titles			Erick Walder
1994	First 28' Long Jump	28′ 8.25″	El Paso, TX	Erick Walder
1996	First Repeat NCAA XC Champion		Tucson, AZ	Godfrey Siamusiye
1995	First Team to Win 12 Consecutive NCAA championships	NCAA Indoor	Indianapolis, IN	
1998	First Team to Win 5 NCAA Triple Crowns		Boise, ID	
2004	First Team to Win 100, 200 & 400 Relay	NCAA Outdoor	Sacramento, CA	Tyson Gay - 100 Wallace Spearmon - 200 Michael Grant & Omar Brown - Relay
2005	First to Break 20 in a 200m	19.91	Des Moines, IA	Wallace Spearmon
2008	Last Individual NCAA Champion	Indoor Triple Jump	Fayetteville, AR	Nkosinza Balumbu



Coach John McDonnell and his Razorback Track & XC teams 1972 – 2008

At his retirement in 2008, only four NCAA institutions had won more than 42 men's national championships. Southern California, UCLA, Stanford, and Oklahoma State are the only schools whose entire men's athletic programs have won more than McDonnell's track and cross country teams.

five

A triple crown is a national title in cross country, indoor and outdoor track in the same academic year. McDonnel's teams won 5 triple crowns. Only one other team has ever achieved a triple crown and, then, only three times.

42

His teams won 42 NCAA titles. Including, 12-consecutive indoor track championships (1984-1995), the longest string of national titles by any school in any sport in collegiate history.